Saint Eustatius


also know as Statia

The Netherlands Windward Islands consist of the southern half of Saint Martin (Sint Maarten) and all of Saint Eustatius and Saba. These islands are situated at the northern end of the Lesser Antilles chain, to the southeast of Puerto Rico. The total population of the Netherlands Antilles (2000 estimate) is 209,888, and the islands' total area is 800 sq km (310 sq mi). The capital and largest city is Willemstad, population (1993 estimate) 130,000.

Text by Microsoft Encarta


square in front of government house


another view of government house


ruins of the old synagogue


now hidden by the vegetation


Fort Orange


where the U.S. flag was first recognized
by a foreign nation


cannon in front of the Museum


typical Dutch colonial room
in the Museum


traditional style building


island vegetation

horizontal rule

Return to Saint Eustatius main page


Goto Sint Maarten page

Goto Saba page

Antigua Aruba Bahamas Bonaire British Virgin Islands Cayman Islands Cuba Curacao Dominica Dominican Republic Grenada Grenadines Guadeloupe Haiti Jamaica Martinique Montserrat Nevis Puerto Rico Saba Saint Barthelemy Saint Eustatius Saint Kitts Saint Lucia Saint Maarten Saint Martin Trinidad Saint Vincent Turks and Caicos U. S. Virgin Islands

Return to Caribbean page

World Heritage Mosaics Roman World Africa Antarctica Asia Atlantic Islands Australia Caribbean Central America Europe Indian Ocean Middle East North America Pacific Islands South America The Traveler Recent Adventures Adventure Travel


Return to People and Places

horizontal rule