Rotunda Legislative Chambers


the dome




The capitol rotunda features portraits of every person who has served as president of the Republic of Texas or governor of the State of Texas. The south foyer features a large portrait of David Crockett, a painting depicting the surrender of General Santa Anna at the Battle of San Jacinto, and sculptures of Sam Houston and Stephen F. Austin made by Elisabeth Ney. The rotunda is also a whispering gallery.


 David Crockett


Stephen F. Austin


Sam Houston









surrender of General Santa Anna at the Battle of San Jacinto

Texas Governors


George W. Bush


Ann W. Richards


William P Clements Jr.


Mark White


Dolph Briscoe


Preston Smith


John Connally


Price Daniel


Allan Shivers


Beauford H, Jester


Coke R Stevenson


James V. Allred

Rotunda Legislative Chambers

Austin  Photos Elderhostel Austin City Limits Blanton Museum Bullock Museum City Hall Johnson Library State Capitol State Cemetery University of Texas Wildflower Center

World Heritage Mosaics Roman World Africa Antarctica Asia Atlantic Islands Australia Caribbean Central America Europe Indian Ocean Middle East North America Pacific Islands South America The Traveler Recent Adventures Adventure Travel


People and Places