Conn. State House

Conn. State House Mark Twain House

Connecticut State House


Connecticut State House behind Civil War monument


in the State House park

In 1662 Connecticut received a royal charter. In 1818 the state adopted a new constitution. The state's present constitution was adopted in 1965. To become a law, a proposed constitutional amendment must receive at least a three-fourths majority vote in both houses of the state legislature or be approved by a majority in both houses in two consecutive legislative sessions and must be approved by a majority of voters.


State Capitol of Connecticut

The General Assembly, as the state legislature is called, consists of a 36-member Senate and a 151-member House of Representatives. Members of both houses are elected for two-year terms. The General Assembly meets in Hartford every year.

Text from Microsoft Encarta





Entrance to the State House area


Israel Putnam, a Connecticut Patriot


Horace Bushnell Memorial theater


square across from the State House

Conn. State House Mark Twain House

Colonial Graves Covered Bridges East Lyme Elderhostel Essex Goodspeed Opera Hartford Ledyard Manchester Montville Center Mystic New London Niantic Noank Stonington Summers

World Heritage Mosaics Roman World Africa Antarctica Asia Atlantic Islands Australia Caribbean Central America Europe Indian Ocean Middle East North America Pacific Islands South America The Traveler Recent Adventures Adventure Travel


People and Places