Triple Crown

2011 Visit Museum Triple Crown

Triple Crown


The Kentucky Derby is one of the three races for three-year-olds that make up horse racing's Triple Crown. The other two races are the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico in Baltimore, Maryland, and the Belmont Stakes, at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York. Eleven horses have won the Triple Crown: Sir Barton in 1919, Gallant Fox in 1930, Omaha in 1935, War Admiral in 1937, Whirlaway in 1941, Count Fleet in 1943, Assault in 1946, Citation in 1948, Secretariat in 1973, Seattle Slew in 1977, and Affirmed in 1978.

as commemorated with wall plaques at Churchill Downs


1930 Gallant Fox


1935 Omaha
1937 War Admiral


1941 Whirlaway


1947 Citation



1973 Secretariat


1977  Seattle Slew

1978 Affirmed

Return to Churchill Downs page

2011 Visit Museum Triple Crown

Churchill Downs Louisville Sluggers On the River

World Heritage Mosaics Roman World Africa Antarctica Asia Atlantic Islands Australia Caribbean Central America Europe Indian Ocean Middle East North America Pacific Islands South America The Traveler Recent Adventures Adventure Travel


People and Places